John Tang

Look Alive

Posted in Sketchbook by Jt's Item Roster on August 1, 2011

I finished a project in the month of July, a complete video game with a string of bosses, plot development, and an ending, called Vito. Unfortunately, I lost my sound engineer and artists during the course of making the game, so I didn’t post it. If you want it, please email me a request at: Jmgtang@gmail.com, and I’ll be happy to post it on Mediafire.com.

There are several projects to come, exercising my skills.  I’m sure I will finish one more book by the end of August.

 

Here are some observations when I was dabbling on the keys:

Guy by Window

Rendering of guy by the window: A thin young man in a red shirt, jeans, and leather shoes, was reading in the dull light of the window (due to bay area’s fog). His eyes sagged, his beard was full. His nose was well shaped, protruded a bit. From the book was reading, The Acclaim Obliteration of Thought as We Speak, I thought the man was tired. He couldn’t seem to concentrate on the work at hand, as he looked away every minute, at a bird flying up to the next eave, the cars beeping at one another at the three-way stops, a woman ringing a bell on her bike so the person on the sidewalk would move aside to his left.

Friendly Talk

Today I spoke to Alan. It has been a weekend since I last saw him. We drove for coffee and to pick up a Kindle, an e-book that wouldn’t hurt his eyes like the Apple Ipad.  It was the drive home he then shared his fears.

“The dollar won’t be worth anything in the next couple of years.” Alan said. “I’m going to take Louis’s advice.”

Louis was a coworker of Alan’s at Wells Fargo bank. He claimed in the next couple of years, he wasn’t sure if banks would return people’s money. So how the bank works is: For every hundred-dollar they lend, a thousand dollars is lent to investors, hoping they would gain your money plus interests. Louis predicted banks won’t be able to return in the next couple of years due to America’s debt.            “I don’t know what to do.”

“Things will work out.” I said, “You own a house.”

“How?” He said and laughed. “I’ll bet the last family that said that lost their house.”

“Have you studied the economy in the last thirty years?”

“No.”

“Didn’t we have the same recession then in the Clinton era?”

“I think they were predicting but it never happened.”

He didn’t know what he was saying, or rather I couldn’t figure out what he was saying.

“Don’t worry, man,” I said. “I’ll have a home in Philippines. Come by, we’ll have a home for you.”

 

–End

Leave a Reply

